APCO International Announces 2024 Award Winners

Winners to be honored during Opening General Session at APCO 2024

Alexandria, VA – The Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO) International is pleased to announce the winners of the 2024 Emergency Communications Center Awards and Technology Leadership Awards. The winners will be recognized during the Opening General Session at APCO 2024, APCO’s Annual Conference & Expo, taking place August 4-7 in Orlando, FL.

The award recipients demonstrated the highest levels of professional conduct and outstanding performance in the line of duty. The award winner of each category is:

Communications Center Director of the Year
Andrew Dameron
Denver 9-1-1
Denver, CO

Telecommunicator of the Year
Beth Gunn
Jeffcom 911
Lakewood, CO

Trainer of the Year
Drew Tetrick
Kitsap 911
Bremerton, WA

Line Supervisor of the Year
Libby Howland
Eaton County 911
Charlotte, MI

Information Technologist of the Year
Stephen Stetson
Dare County Sheriff’s Office
Manteo, NC

Radio Frequency Technologist of the Year
Chuck Kuhler
Fauquier County Sheriff’s Office
Warrenton, VA

Team of the Year
Valley Communications Center
Kent, WA

Technology in Leadership Award – Large Agency
City of Hemet Police & Fire ECC
Hemet, CA

Technology in Leadership Award – Small Agency
NEOM Command and Control Center
Saudi Arabia

“We are thrilled to honor this year’s ECC and Technology Leadership Award winners for standing strong and serving as heroes to their communities when it was needed most. We are proud of you and all who were nominated this year,” said Becky Neugent, President of APCO International. “Congratulations to this year’s winners and thank you for the hard work you do every day.”

APCO International® (www.apcointl.org)
APCO International is the world’s oldest and largest organization of public safety communications professionals and supports the largest U.S. membership base of any public safety association. It serves the needs of public safety communications practitioners worldwide – and the welfare of the general public as a whole.