APCO International Announces Recipients of 2021 Leadership in Policy Awards

Alexandria, VA – The Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO) International announces the recipients of its prestigious 2021 Public Safety Communications Leadership in Policy Awards, who will be honored virtually this year during an online awards celebration taking place May 26.

The awards celebration commemorates leaders who have made outstanding contributions to public safety communications.

The 2021 award winners are:

Leadership in Advocacy Award
Captain Mel Maier
Commander, Emergency Communications and Operations Division
Oakland County Sheriff’s Office
Pontiac, MI

Leadership in Regulatory Service Award
Michael Dame
Deputy Associate Administrator, Office of Public Safety Communications
National Telecommunications and Information Administration

Leadership in Legislative Service Award 
The Honorable Brian Fitzpatrick
U.S. House of Representatives

Leadership in Advancing Communications Policy Award (Posthumously)
Robert “Bob” Bloom
Former Public Safety Systems Administrator
Department of Emergency and Customer Communications
Alexandria, Virginia

APCO will also be recognizing the 2020 award winners during the celebration. They are as follows:

Leadership in Regulatory Service
John Evanoff
Deputy Division Chief, Policy and Licensing Division
Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau
Federal Communications Commission

Leadership in Legislative Service
The Honorable Frank Pallone, Jr.
U.S. House of Representatives

Leadership in Advocacy
Jeff Bratcher
Chief Network and Technology Officer
FirstNet Authority

Leadership in Advancing Communications Policy
Karima Holmes
Former Director of the Office of Unified Communications
Washington, DC

Award recipients will be recognized by members of the public safety community, government and industry during the virtual celebration taking place May 26.

“It is a privilege to take this opportunity each year to recognize extraordinary leaders who have made a real difference in advancing public safety communications,” said APCO President Margie Moulin. “This ceremony is a unique opportunity to celebrate them and their significant contributions to improving public safety.”

For information about the awards celebration, visit leadersdinner.apcointl.org.