

Leaders in Public Safety Communications®

November 18, 2022

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER Derek K. Poarch poarchd@apcointl.org

HEADQUARTERS J. Rhett McMillian, Jr. Building 351 North Williamson Boulevard Daytona Beach, FL 32114-1112 386-322-2500

EXECUTIVE OFFICES Gregory T. Riddle Building 1426 Prince Street Alexandria, VA 22314 571-312-4400

www.apcointl.org

BOARD OF DIRECTORS 2022 – 2023

**EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE** 

President Angela R. Batey, RPL, CPE abatey@gpstc.org

First Vice President Becky Neugent becky@autauga911.com

Second Vice President Stephen P. Martini, RPL, CPE stephen.martini@nashville.gov

Immediate Past President Jason E. Kern, CPE jkern@seecom911.org

East Coast Region David D. Dodd, RPL Brian E. LaMonica, RPL, CPE

Gulf Coast Region Paul A. McCallister, RPL Jack Varnado, RPL

North Central Region Michael R. O'Connor Jay D. Somerville

Western Region Jennifer Reese, CPE Melissa Stroh, MBA, CPM

Commercial Advisory Council Derrick Duggins Marlene Dortch Secretary Federal Communications Commission 45 L Street, NE Washington, DC 20554

## Re: Notice of Ex Parte, WP Docket No. 07-100

On November 16, Mark Reddish, Alison Venable, and I met with representatives of the Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau and Wireless Telecommunications Bureau (listed below) to discuss the above-captioned proceeding on the 4.9 GHz spectrum dedicated to public safety.

During the meeting, we explained how APCO's previous recommended rule changes<sup>1</sup> would improve public safety use of the 4.9 GHz band consistent with the Commission's goal to "emphasize public safety needs," and "promote a robust equipment market, drive down prices and costs, spur innovation, and increase the likelihood of interoperable communications and consistent interference protection."<sup>2</sup>

Specifically, APCO proposed the following rule changes: require frequency coordination,<sup>3</sup> adopt minor changes to ULS to properly capture all pertinent details of public safety operations,<sup>4</sup> increase operational and technical flexibility,<sup>5</sup> and depart from the current geographic licensing framework. These rule changes would provide new incentives to drive

<sup>1</sup> See Comments of APCO International, WP Docket No. 07-100, at 2-5 (filed Nov. 29, 2021) ("APCO Comments").

<sup>2</sup> Amendment of Part 90 of the Commission's Rules, WP Docket No. 07-100, *Order on Reconsideration and Eighth Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking*, 36 FCC Rcd 15032, at para. 27 (2021) ("Order & FNPRM").

<sup>3</sup> As the Commission tentatively concluded in the FNPRM, formal frequency coordination would support interference protection and increase public safety confidence in using the band. Order & FNPRM at paras. 45-47.

<sup>4</sup> APCO has previously suggested that frequency coordination can be enhanced through minor changes to the ULS system, without the need for a third-party database. For example, the data in ULS should be improved by requiring incumbent licensees and new applicants to provide technical information that will help mitigate the possibility of interference, uncoupling base and mobile stations from geographic licenses, and adding the 4.9 GHz band to the ULS microwave schedule for P-P, P-MP, and fixed receiver stations. APCO comments at 4.

<sup>5</sup> *See id.* at 4-5 (detailing rule changes that would benefit public safety use by increasing flexibility and provide assurances of interference-free access to the band).

further use of the band while officially recording public safety operational and technical parameters in the ULS database. This would in turn set the stage for subsequent sharing of this band with non-public safety users, which APCO has also supported in order to increase innovation and competition in the 4.9 GHz equipment marketplace, and likely lower costs provided that public safety users retain priority and preemption rights over other users.

Respectfully submitted,

## APCO INTERNATIONAL

By:

Jeffrey S. Cohen Chief Counsel (571) 312-4400 cohenj@apcointl.org

CC (via email):

David Furth Paul Powell Susan Mort John Evanoff Renee Roland Brian Morenco Thomas Eng Ethan Jeans Jon Markman Roberto Mussenden Halie Peacher